Will Nudging/Tilt Sensitivity Ever Be More Realistic?

Jeff Strong

Staff member
Feb 19, 2012
Do you guys think Farsight is ever going to make the nudging and/or tilt sensitivity more realistic? (and Farsight, if you're reading, please chime in)

NOTE: this discussion relates to non-touchscreen controls.

As good as TPA is, this is one of its biggest flaws, IMO. Now as I've said many times, I'm not a pro-level player by any means, but as it is now, if you have even decent nudging skills and you play with a controller, you can essentially steer the ball around at will with little fear of tilting. Almost any center drain can be prevented since you can nudge multiple times in a row in the same direction without tilting, which allows you to move the ball by an unrealistically large margin. Since the tables are already tuned to be easier than real pinball machines, why does the nudging need to be so exaggerated in relation to the tilt sensitivity? The game times already run longer than real life, and with nudging the way it is, they become even longer, to the point where it's kind of crazy on some tables.

As we've discussed before, the ideal solution would be to have a separate single-player "tournament" mode, with more realistic nudging and tilt sensitivity (as well as other tournament settings, such as extra balls being disabled). I know I would play TPA a lot more if that were the case, without a doubt.

Another possible solution would be for Farsight to have options for nudge power and/or tilt sensitivity in the options or perhaps a Pro Menu. That would make the price of the Pro Modes worth it, IMO (however, the only problem there though is that not all of the tables have Pro Modes).

Anyway, I wonder if we'll ever see a solution. It doesn't seem very high on their priority list, unfortunately.

Last edited:

Baron Rubik

Mar 21, 2013
Farsights development priority list seems strangely skewed to me personally, and un-guess able.