An "Ok, Ok, Ok!" Project

Carl Spiby

Feb 28, 2012
I've bought my first machine - A Lethal Weapon 3.

It was cheap, £400 (thats around $650), the story is that it was rescued from someones shed about 6 years ago, the previous owner took it home, got it all working and played it for 3 years, the last 2 years its just been sitting in his garage.

I'm told there's no wear on the playfield (most important thing to me), all the lamps/mechanisms are working, all the boards are present including a replacement Rottendog CPU Board.

The cabinet is a little scruffy and the legs/lockdown/siderails need repainting.

The HV side of the PSU isn't working so there's no working DMD currently, my plan is to attempt to rebuild the PSU to get the DMD working, then I need to repair some legs on the DMD with automotive rear heated screen epoxy as theres some lines out.

I'm really looking forward to getting the machine and starting work on it, I've never done anything like this before but I'm really looking forward to it and making it my own.

Current plan is:

Strip and clean the playfield
Repair HV section of PSU
Repair DMD legs
Repaint legs/lockdown/rails (any suggestions on prep&paint here?)
Use some wood filler to fill the damage and get some matching blue paint (girlfriend said she would help!)
Use scotchbrite on the uncoated metal bits (don't have a tumbler)

Here are the pictures the seller provided me.

11819893805_d227bd4be1_o.jpg

11819907565_75300dc380_o.jpg

11820130413_eb9cbd5e5d_o.jpg

11820150803_dea2b103ea_o.jpg

Naildriver74

Aug 2, 2013
Looks like you have a job ahead of you. It's a real sense of accomplishment when you get into something like this and see the finished table. Good luck

Kolchak357

Senior Pigeon
May 31, 2012