PSA - Galaxy Note 2014 (10.1)

Pop Sergeant

Jul 26, 2012
Hello everyone. I recently upgraded my tablet from a Toshiba Thrive (10.1) with android ICS 4.03 to the Samsung Galaxy Note 2014 (10.1) running Samsung's stock Jelly Bean 4.3.

This is a tale of woe with a happy ending, at least for me, and I want to share the "solution" in case any others of our fine community are having like issues.

I don't know if any of this is applicable to the Galaxy S or Galaxy 3 series devices. I'm speaking of and only about the Galaxy Note 2014 model because I have zero experience with any other Samsung branded device.

It might be a little bold to label this a PSA, but I can say without hesitation that I wish I could have found something like this, even if it didn't help, as opposed to radio-silence about my issues, while I was struggling with these problems. Sometimes, at least for me, even a pointer to a false lead helps me to at least rule out a solution set or gets me to thinking in a new line of troubleshooting. Please take this essay in that spirit and not as some kind of wizard advice from on high.

This is simply the result of trial and error, fruitless research, frustration, and desperation from a TPA fan that led to a good outcome.

Everything (TPA-wise) is great (now), but I immediately had issues with flippers (especially the left flipper) sticking in the "up" position and balls auto-launching on those tables that have auto-launch triggers as well as the old troll bomb auto-use issue especially with AFM and MM. Perhaps the most frustration issue was the random "screen capture" that would occur for no known reason.

I first thought it was a TPA issue (gasp, I know, right?) until I started having a similar issue with ZEN, at least as far as the very unreliable flipper responses.

It was a nightmare. I'd been holding on to my 3.5 year old Thrive simply because TPA worked so darn well on it. Never any device related issues with it at all.

Not once.